TCOE homepage TCOE homepage

Meet the winners of the Excellence in Education Awards

2012 Excellence in Education Award winners
On October 17, over 400 family, colleagues and community members gathered to honor the winners, finalists and nominees in the annual Excellence in Education Awards program. This year, a total of 37 nominees from Tulare County school districts, the College of the Sequoias and Porterville College were chosen to participate in the competition, which was judged and announced in April 2012.

Brian Hollingshead, principal at Mission Valley Elementary in the Tulare City School District, was honored as Tulare County Administrator of the Year; James Kusserow, band director at Porterville High School was honored as Tulare County Teacher of the Year; and Cherí Barnes, lead personnel technician with the Tulare County Office of Education was honored as Tulare County School Employee of the Year.

View the tribute video produced in honor of the three winners.

The countywide Excellence in Education Awards program is now in its 18th year. The annual competition to honor administrators, teachers and school employees is cosponsored by Educational Employees Credit Union. For more information on the program, contact Marlene Moreno at (559) 733-6302, or

Photos above (left to right):
~ Brian Hollingshead, Administrator of the Year
~ James Kusserow, Teacher of the Year
~ Cherí Barnes, School Employee of the Year