English Language Development (ELD)
The Tulare County Office of Education provides support in the area of English language development (ELD) to ensure the academic success of multilingual learners. The multilingual department offers customized professional development, coaching, and support services geared toward enhancing instruction and supporting districts in providing comprehensive ELD in connection with the California state adopted ELA/ELD Framework.
ELD image

Professional learning services and content coaching are available for multiple English language development needs and may include, but are not limited to:

  • EL Network

  • ELPAC assessment support 

  • Instructional support and coaching for Title III Consortium districts

  • EL RISE! anchor district - providing free professional learning support for ELD

  • On-site coaching for ELD implementation 

  • Implementation of Multi-tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) Framework alignment with ELD integration

  • Coaching for Continuous Improvement for Equity (CIE) to address closing achievement gaps for English learners

  • Social and emotional learning (SEL) embedded within ELD instructional practices
ELD Staff Development and Curriculum Specialists


Jenean Bray
jenean.bray@tcoe.org 
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3357

Timothy Budz
timothy.budz@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3353

Sandi Cahill
sandi.cahill@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3358

Ryann Derington
ryann.derington@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3359

Marla Martin
marla.martin@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3351

Tammy Milligan
tammy.milligan@tcoe.org 
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3350


Professional Learning Opportunities
Make It, Take It!

September 27 and October 25, 2022
Click for information

Rethinking Adolescent Literacy

September 29, 2022 - Click for information

Conferring with Readers

October 27, 2022 - Click for information

Building Powerful Book Clubs

November 15, 2022 - Click for information

EL Strategies Through Text Connections

January 12, 2023 - Click for information

Building a Strong Reading Foundation (Grades TK-2)

January 20 and March 2, 2023 - click for information

Fall in Love with Writing

February 21, 2023 - Click for information

Community and Family Literacy Engagement

March 9, 2023 - Click for information