Mathematics
The Tulare County Office of Education supports school districts in designing and implementing high-quality, standards-based mathematics education. Customizable support includes strategic planning with the Mathematics Framework and California State Standards, professional learning, instructional coaching, and participation in the Central Valley Network Improvement Communities (CVNIC) for grades 3-12 mathematics.
Ed Tech Graphic (1080 × 700 px)

Professional learning services and content coaching are available for multiple mathematical needs and may include, but are not limited to:

  • Professional learning for guiding principles in mathematics instruction and learning

  • Math assessment design

  • Lesson design

  • Lesson study

  • On-site instructional coaching for mathematics

  • On-site coaching for integrated ELD in mathematics

  • Participation in Central Valley Network Improvement Communities (CVNIC) for grades 3-12 mathematics

  • Universal Design for Learning (UDL) for mathematical instruction

  • Implementation of Multi-tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) Framework alignment with mathematical instruction

  • Coaching for Continuous Improvement for Equity (CIE) to address closing achievement gaps for all learners

  • Social and emotional learning (SEL) embedded within mathematical instructional practices to promote positive math mindsets

Math Staff Development & Curriculum Specialists

Arcy Alafa
arcy.alafa@tcoe.org

(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3342

McKenzi Hurick
mckenzi.hurick@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3335

Julie Joseph
julie.joseph@tcoe.org
(559) 651-30311 Ext. 3330

Joseph Lamb
joseph.lamb@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3332

Nicholas Lopez
nicholas.lopez@tcoe.org

(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3334

Nancy Nagatani
nancy.nagatani@tcoe.org

(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3337

Stephanie Verners
stephanie.verners@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3336

Kim Webb
kim.webb@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3331


Professional Learning Opportunities

Number Talks: Helping Children Build Mental Math and Computation Strategies

October 26, 2022 - Click for information

Exploring Fractions Through Number Talks

October 27, 2022 - Click for information

Universal Design for Learning

November 2-3, 2022 - Click for information

Mathematical Language Routines - Grades 3-8

January 17, 2023 - Click for information

Visual Strategies for Problem Solving (Grades 3-8)

January 30, 2023 - click for information

What Makes for Rich Instruction?

March 6, 2023 - Click for information