Mathematics
The Tulare County Office of Education supports school districts in designing and implementing high-quality, standards-based mathematics education. Customizable support includes strategic planning with the Mathematics Framework and California State Standards, professional learning, instructional coaching, and participation in the Central Valley Network Improvement Communities (CVNIC) for grades 3-12 mathematics.
Ed Tech Graphic (1080 × 700 px)

Professional learning services and content coaching are available for multiple mathematical needs and may include, but are not limited to:

  • Professional learning for guiding principles in mathematics instruction and learning

  • Math assessment design

  • Lesson design

  • Lesson study

  • On-site instructional coaching for mathematics

  • On-site coaching for integrated ELD in mathematics

  • Participation in Central Valley Network Improvement Communities (CVNIC) for grades 3-12 mathematics

  • Universal Design for Learning (UDL) for mathematical instruction

  • Implementation of Multi-tiered Systems of Support (MTSS) Framework alignment with mathematical instruction

  • Coaching for Continuous Improvement for Equity (CIE) to address closing achievement gaps for all learners

  • Social and emotional learning (SEL) embedded within mathematical instructional practices to promote positive math mindsets

Math Staff Development & Curriculum Specialists

Arcy Alafa
arcy.alafa@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3339

Julie Joseph
julie.joseph@tcoe.org
(559) 651-30311 Ext. 3330

Joseph Lamb
joseph.lamb@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3332

Nicholas Lopez
nicholas.lopez@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3337

Carl Veater
carl.veater@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3332

Stephanie Verners
stephanie.verners@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3336

Kim Webb
kim.webb@tcoe.org
(559) 651-3031 Ext. 3331


Professional Learning Opportunities

Engaging Math Centers for the K-2 Classroom

July 14, 2022 - click for information

What's My Place? What's My Value?

July 19, 2022 - click for information

Number Talks: Helping Children Build Mental Math and Computation Strategies

July 20, 2022 - click for information

What's My Place? What's My Value?

July 21, 2022 - click for information

Number Sense and Fluency (Grades K-2)

July 21, 2022 - Click for information

Transforming Preschool Math into Play

July 26, 2022 - Click for information

Number Talks (Grades 3-8)

July 26, 2022 - Click for information

Number Sense and Fluency (Grades 3-6)

July 27, 2022 - Click for information

Using My Curriculum Effectively (Grades K-6)

July 28, 2022 - Click for information