Instructional Aide Assessment Test
Instructional Aide Exam
No Child Left Behind Act
The No Child Left Behind Act was passed by Congress in January of 2001. This federal law requires that paraprofessionals who work in schools that are supported with Title I funds and provide instructional support in the classroom must be "highly qualified". This law defines "highly qualified" as having a high school diploma and one of the following:
The Instructional Aide Assessment was designed to assess a candidate's knowledge of, and the ability to assist in, instructing reading, writing and mathematics. Passage of the Instructional Aide Assessment will assist candidates for instructional aide
positions in meeting the requirement to be "highly qualified."
California Education Code 45330 requires that no person shall be assigned to assist in instruction as an instructional aide unless the person has demonstrated proficiency in basic reading, writing and mathematics skills up to or exceeding that required for high school seniors in the local high schools.
Passage of this test will satisfy both the requirements of the California Education Code, as well as the federal No Child Left Behind legislation.
The exam will take place at the TCOE Administration Building & Conference Center, Room CDEF, 6200 S. Mooney Blvd., Visalia. Please view the testing schedule for dates and times of the instructional aide exam.
Participants must arrive on time in order to be included in the testing. NO ONE WILL BE ADMITTED ONCE THE TESTING HAS BEGUN.
A picture I.D. must be presented on the day of the examination.
There is a $10 non-refundable registration fee to take the test. The $10 fee is due a minimum of two days prior to taking the exam; seating is limited.
The $10 registration fee can be made in person (with exact cash or money order made out to TCOE only - no personal checks or credit cards) between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. The registration fee is non-refundable. SEATING IS LIMITED, so early registration is recommended. Register in person at:
Payment can be made by mail (exact cash or money order only - no checks) using this form. Payment and the completed form must be received at least two days prior to your testing day. Print, complete, and mail the form with your $10 cash or money order payment to:
You are not registered until your $10 fee is received. Those registering by mail will receive a confirmation e-mail.
If you are unable to report for the exam on the designated test day, please notify the Human Resources Department by calling (559) 733-6306 PRIOR TO THE START OF THE EXAM. If you notify the department ahead of time, you may request to take the exam at a later date. Otherwise, you will need to register again and pay the $10 fee.
Test results will be provided to you immediately after the exam.
If you need a letter of certification re-issued, call Human Resources at (559) 733-6322 to initiate your request and arrange for a time to come in. Identification will be needed and there is a $5 fee (no personal checks accepted).
Tulare County Office of Education
Tim A. Hire, County Superintendent of Schools
P.O. Box 5091
Visalia, CA 93278-5091